President Uhuru Kenyatta appoints tribunal to probe suspended EACC bosses

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed a tribunal to investigate and determine the removal from office of suspended Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) Chair Mumo Matemu and his deputy Irene Keino.

The tribunal will be chaired by Justice (Rtd) Jonathan Bowen Havelock and is expected to submit its recommendations to the President. Other members of the tribunal are Margaret Shava, Muathe Issa and Juster Nkoroi as published in a gazette notice signed by the President.

Thursday morning, Uhuru suspended Matemu and Keino after the National Assembly recommended their removal from the EACC on Wednesday. “They are suspended from undertaking all functions and duties of those offices with immediate effect pending the outcome of the tribunal,” said State House Spokesperson Manoah Esipisu in a statement.

Esipisu said that the process to probe the EACC bosses does not in no way hinder the work of the organisation which is constitutionally established and operational.