Madagascar’s ruling party wins landslide victory in senate elections

The party of Madagascar’s President Hery Rajaonarimampianina, has won a landslide victory in last months’s Senate elections, according to official preliminary results.

In each of the seven provinces of Madagascar, they polled more than 6 0 per cent of the vote.

Despite the irregularities raised by the opposition and national observers, the (Independent National Electoral Commission) said it has has completed its tasks for the organization of these elections,” the president of the commission, Hery Rakotomanana, told reporters.

The results will now be forwarded to the High Constitutional Court.

“It is for the High Constitutional Court to decide on electoral disputes and establishing the number of seats won by each party in terms of votes won,” Eakotonarivo Thierry, Vice-President of the Commission election told AFP. A total of 12,664 electors, mayors and councilors, went to the polls to elect 42 senators. Twenty-one other senators will be appointed directly by the head of state, in accordance with the Constitution.

The last Senate was dissolved just after Andry Rajoelina, then mayor of the capital Antananarivo, ousted President Marc Ravalomanana in a coup in 2009.