Uhuru Appoints 14 New High Court Judges

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed 14 new High Court judges.

The judges who previously served as magistrates were among 25 candidates selected by the Judicial Service Commission.

They include Stephen Riechi, Olga Sawe, Winfrida Okwany, Patrick Otieno, Anthony Ndung’u, Mugure Thande, Margaret Mwangi and Stephen Githinji.

The rest are Dorah Chepkwony, Asenath Ongeri, Waweru Kiarie, Lucy Njuguna, John Muting’a and Reuben Nyakundi.

The JSC advertised 40 posts in January 2013 and received a list of 193 applicants, 76 of whom were shortlisted for interviews.

In July 2014, Uhuru appointed only 11 judges and rejected the 14 sparking a protest.

After missing the appointments, some of the magistrates were reassigned to their former stations by Chief Justice Willy Mutunga.

The appointment takes effect immediately.