14 New High Court Judges Sworn in

President Uhuru Kenyatta witnessed the swearing-in of 14 new High Court judges at State House, Nairobi on Thursday.

The judges who were appointed last week include Justices Stephen Riechi, Olga Sawe, Winfrida Okwany, Patrick Otieno, Anthony Ndung’u, Mugure Thande, Margaret Mwangi and Stephen Githinji.

Others are Dorah Chepkwony, Asenath Ongeri, Waweru Kiarie, Lucy Njuguna, John Mativo and Reuben Nyakundi.

The ceremony was conducted by the Chief Registrar of the Judiciary, Anne Amadi.

Uhuru congratulated the new judges saying Kenyans are looking forward to a judiciary that can deal with court cases expeditiously.

He said the Executive will support the Judiciary and ensure sufficient budgetary allocations so that it can perform its duties efficiently.

Uhuru said the three arms of government share the role of building a stronger society and serving Kenyans diligently.

“The independence of the different arms of government does not take away our responsibility and we must work together,” he said.

The 14 judges were part of the list of 25 forwarded by the Judicial Service Commission in 2014.

At the time, Uhuru appointed 11 of the 25 and postponed the appointment of the 14 pending further processes.

Chief Justice Willy Mutunga thanked the President for his readiness to engage the JSC in consultations.

Before the swearing-in ceremony, Uhuru held a separate meeting with members of the JSC.